top of page

Karazin University

Updated: Jan 23, 2022

Karazin University was founded on the initiative of the outstanding enlightener Vasyl Karazin in November 1804. The formal opening took place on January 29, 1805.

The University history is part and parcel of the intellectual, cultural and spiritual heritage of Ukraine. For more than two centuries, Karazin University has been extensively engaged in enlightening, making scientific discoveries, improving the educational constituent, implementing a large-scale program of international cooperation, with higher school in Kharkiv region and Ukraine on the whole developing along the way.

Karazin University is the only university in Ukraine to have trained and employed three Nobel Prize laureates: biologist Ilya Mechnikov, economist Simon Kuznets, physicist Lev Landau. The training of international students at Karazin University began in 1948. Currently, the University is the leader of Ukraine in the number of international students enrolled, who come from almost all continents. Among others, Karazinites are students from Asia, Australia, Africa, Europe, North, and South America. In total, Karazin University’s 22 schools provide training for over 4,000 international students from more than 70 countries of the world.

The University has long-standing traditions of international cooperation, and participates in educational and professional associations, which is indicative of the world scientific community’s recognition of its significant role in training dedicated highly-qualified professionals. The University holds high positions in the national and international rankings.

Karazin University community comprises academicians, full and associate professors, PhDs and doctors of sciences, who used to study within its walls. Some of them make Karazin University particularly proud. They are people who have contributed a lot to the development of education, science, culture, sports of Ukraine and the world, and therefore have glorified their Alma Mater.

Today, the University has 23 Schools and education and research institutes: School of Biology; Education and Research Institute "School of Physics and Technology"; School of Radiophysics, Biomedical Electronics and Computer Systems; School of Physics; School of Computer Sciences; School of Philosophy; School of Mathematics and Computer Sciences; School of International Economic Relations and Travel Business; School of Geology, Geography, Recreation and Tourism; Education and Research Institute of Ecology; School of Economics; School of Foreign Languages; School of History; School of Philology; School of Medicine; School of Chemistry; School of Sociology; School of Psychology; School of Law; Education and Research Institute of Computer Physics and Energy; Education and Research Institute "Karazin Business School"; Education and Research Institute of Public Administration; Karazin Banking Institute.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page